Five Pillars of Islam

The Five Pillars of Islam

The five pillars of Islam are the basis of Muslim life. Prophet Muhammed (P.B.U.H.) is reported to have said:

Islam is founded on five pillars to testify that ‘there is no deity except God, and Muhammed is the Messenger of God’, to establish the ritual prayers, to give charity (to the needy), to fast during the month of Ramadhan, and to perform the pilgrimage to the House (of worship in Makkah).

A practising Muslims life is centred on these pillars. To find out more about each pillar, see the pages below:

1.Shahadah – Declaration of Faith

2.Salah – Daily Prayers

3.Zakah – Charity

4.Sawm – Fasting

5.Hajj – Pilgrimage